Holiday Sanitation and Recycling Schedule

During holidays, garbage and recycling collection schedules change. Please note, if your collection date falls on a holiday your garbage and recycling collection may be collected on different days.

Garbage Collection Holiday Schedule

The City of West Fargo observes the following holidays and will not pick up garbage on these days: 

  • New Year’s Day
  • Good Friday
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Eve
  • Christmas Day

If the holiday falls Monday through Thursday, the pick up for that holiday will be the following day. If the holiday falls on a Friday, the refuse will be picked up Thursday.

Garbage Collection Holiday Changes

Holiday Schedule Change
New Year's Day
Monday, Jan. 1, 2018
Monday and Tuesday garbage collected Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2018.
Good Friday
Friday, March 30, 2018
Thursday and Friday garbage collected Thursday, March 29, 2018.
Memorial Day
Monday, May 28, 2018
Monday and Tuesday garbage collected Tuesday, May 29, 2018.
Independence Day
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Wednesday and Thursday garbage collected Thursday, July 5, 2018.
Labor Day
Monday, Sept. 3, 2018
Monday and Tuesday garbage collected Tuesday, Sept. 4, 2018.
Veterans Day
Monday, Nov. 12, 2018
Monday and Tuesday garbage collected Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2018.
Thanksgiving
Thursday, Nov. 22, 2018
Thursday and Friday garbage collected Friday, Nov. 23, 2018.
Christmas Eve
Monday, Dec. 24, 2018
No changes to the schedule.
Christmas Day
Tuesday, Dec. 25, 2018
Tuesday and Wednesday garbage collected Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018.
New Year's Day
Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2019
Tuesday and Wednesday garbage collected Wednesday, Jan. 2, 2019.

Recycling Collection Holiday Schedule

Waste Management, Inc. observes the following holidays and will not pick up recycling on these days: 

  • New Year’s Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Day

Recycling will be picked up the day following each holiday. All additional days for that week will also be one day behind. Weeks with a holiday will conclude with a Saturday pick up.

Recycling Collection Holiday Changes

Holiday Schedule Change
New Year's Day
Monday, Jan. 1, 2018
Monday recycling collected Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2018. 
Service will be delayed one day all week.
Memorial Day
Monday, May 28, 2018
Monday recycling collected Tuesday, May 29, 2018. 
Service will be delayed one day all week.
Independence Day
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Wednesday recycling collected Thursday, July 5, 2018. 
Wednesday-Friday will be delayed one day.
Labor Day
Monday, Sept. 3, 2018
Monday recycling collected Tuesday,Sept. 4, 2018. 
Service will be delayed by one day all week.
Thanksgiving
Thursday, Nov. 22, 2018
Thursday recycling collected Friday, Nov. 23, 2018. 
Thursday and Friday service will be delayed by one day.
Christmas Day
Tuesday, Dec. 25, 2018
Tuesday recycling collected Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018. 
Tuesday-Friday service will be delayed by one day all week.
New Year's Day
Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2019
Tuesday collected Wednesday, Jan. 2, 2019. 
Tuesday-Friday service will be delayed by one day.